December 19, 2012

The vast number of ‘Galaxy’ products’ are confusing to anyone looking to buy a tablet, so we’ve taken the entire range of Galaxy Tabs and ordered them by their timelines so you can compare their major differences and then decide for yourself which of Samsung’s tablets suits you best.

 

To compare the raw specs, head over to our Specs grid

The Galaxy Tabs essentially fall into 2 camps depending on whether they come with a 7″ display or the larger 10.1″, but even here there’s an exception as we’ll soon see. So let’s start with the latest and greatest tablets first


10.1″

Galaxy Note 10.1 (N8000)

- August 2012

Galaxy Note 10.1 N8000 Top

Not to be confused with the Samsung Galaxy Note phone, the Note tablet features a beastly quad core A9 processor and borrowing the idea from the Galaxy Note phone, also includes a stylus. It’s a significant upgrade from the Tab2 in many departments, including processor (from a dual core), camera is up to 5MP vs. 3MP, the bluetooth version’s upgraded and the MicroSD capacity has doubled. There’s also an IR (Infra-Red) port at the top of the device, which you can see in the photo above, but not in the Tab2 (as we’ll see below). There’s no doubt this is a real workhorse for the most intensive applications but if the price is a bit too steep and the specs are overkill for your more casual needs, there’s hope because simultaneously on sale is the …


Galaxy Tab2 10.1 (P5100)

- May 2012

Tab2 10.1 P5100 Top

The Galaxy Tab2 10.1, unveiled in February 2012, is also one of the latest in Samsung’s tablet PC line up, has a 10″ display and a stylish finish with a silver backing and a choice of either a white or black front bezel. It was released in the US in May 2012 and to the UK a whole 3 months later, in August 2012. It comes a full year after the first 10.1″ tablet released by Samsung but lacks the upgrades one might expect to have happened during that time. It now has a MicroSD slot, features Android 4.0, comes in the choice of 2 colors just mentioned and the GPU was upgraded to a PowerVR SGX540 from a ULP GeForce, in line with many tablets that are now being released with a variant of this chip.



7″

Galaxy Tab2  7.0 (P3100)

- May 2012

Black Tab2 7.0 Landscape

The successor to the Galaxy Tab 7.0, the Tab2 7.0 runs on a dual-core 1.0 GHz processor and comes in 2 colour variations.  You can pick it up either in all-white or with a black front bezel and a silver back; we prefer the latter slightly but both look good. It’s the latest offering in the 7″ tablet arena released by Samsung in May 2012 and is targeted at those who want a reasonably decent 7″ tablet at a lower cost than the previous, more powerful tablet, the …


Galaxy Tab  7.7 (P6800)

- January 2012

Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 - P6800
If you’re in the market for a 7″ tablet (or thereabouts), the Tab 7.7 is definitely one worth checking out. Released in January 2012, it’s the most powerful 7″ tablet Samsung has – more so than the Tab2 7.0 above – and packs dual-core 1.4 GHz processors, 1GB RAM and weighs a cool 330 grams. It can still just about fit in our coat pocket and looks slick with a silver rear finish and black bezelled front. It’s an upgrade over the …


Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus (P6200)

- November 2011

Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus

The Tab 7.0 Plus was the successor to Samsung’s first tablet, the Galaxy Tab (P1000) which was also 7″, and came out a year after it in November 2011. During that time, the display was upgraded from a TFT LCD to a PLS LCD, ram doubled to 1GB and runs a dual core 1.2 GHz processor with an Android 4.0 OS – a significant upgrade.


Galaxy Tab 8.9 (P7300)

- August 2011

Samsung_Galaxy_Tab_8.9

The Galaxy Tab 8.9 is an interesting model – it plugs the (missing?) gap between the 7″ range and the 10.1″ range almost as though Samsung felt this might be a significant source of additional revenue. Just in case, you know, someone felt they weren’t going to buy a tablet because neither the 7″ nor the 10.1″ were what they were looking for. However, it might turn out to be a wise decision after all as the overhead would be minimal given their infrastructure is currently running at full speed in production churning out both the larger and smaller models – adding an extra model must not’ve seemed difficult. They’ve also done a fantastic job of it, with the unfortunate drawback – and it’ll definitely be a major drawback for some who might be considering this tablet – is that it has no physical connectivity options. Period. No HDMI, no USB, no expandable storage slot, etc.


Galaxy Tab 10.1 (P7510)

- June 2011

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Initially pegged for release back in March 2011, this predecessor to the now infamous Tab2 10.1 ended up being released in June 2011 after a major setback following the production of the 1st batch of tablets. It has a distinctive iPad-ish look to it – it’s very understandable why Apple sued them for copyright infringement – and runs on a 1.0 GHz dual core NVidia Tegra chipset with 1 GB of RAM, not bad even for today’s tablet standards. With the plethora of 10.1″ tablets now on the market, this is an ideal candidate for scouring the web for heavy discounts by any retailers still stocking this. You know that first batch of tablets we mentioned? That’s the …


Galaxy Tab 10.1v (P7100)

- March 2011

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1V

The 10.1v was originally supposed to be the 10.1 but because of the setbacks just mentioned, it was sold with the v suffix to distinguish from the thinner 10.1 that came later in June 2011. The 10.1v had a very short life of just 3-4 months, from March to June 2011.  The 10.1v is chunkier, but has an 8MP camera (as opposed to 3MP) in the Tab 10.1 (P7510). There’s really no reason to buy this today regardless of your budget as it’s essentially a neglected model – you might as well buy the slightly newer 10.1 (P7510) if your budget doesn’t quite stretch to the latest and greatest Tab2.


Galaxy Tab (P1000)

- November 2010

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Known simply as the Galaxy Tab, this was the very first model introduced to the world by Samsung and released in most countries way back in November 2010. It features a 7″ display running on a 1.0 GHz A8 processor with the Android 2.3 OS. Not bad at all for the time and even now, if you don’t need the very latest OS and fancy dual core technology, for less than the price of the newest models you can pick these up from a very healthy market on eBay even today. You might be tempted to get this for your kids or nephew/niece but if they’re particularly ruly and of the destructive type, we’d suggest let them try their hand at a cheaper tablet – the Busbi 7 comes to mind – before letting them get their hands on this one.


Just one more thing…

To top things off, the ‘Galaxy’ range also includes Samsung’s range of mobile phones ! The Galaxy S, S2, S3, S Advanced, Nexus, Note (there’s also a Note tablet remember) are all mobiles so when you see this, it’s not what you want (unless you’re after a Galaxy phone of course).

Tab 7.7, 7.0+, 8.9, 10.1, 10.1v Image Courtesy: Samsung

8 Comments

  1. mopnbikqosh
    February 5, 2013  

    contemporarily it [url=http://www.ddtshanghaiescort.com/shanghai-escort.html]shanghai massage[/url] is opposite a only one years after this aeon of in good time always beans futuresnot natural fluctuations material

  2. hgh releaser review
    February 5, 2013  

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Excellent work! hgh releaser review

  3. Kelclemguti
    February 7, 2013  

    the seminar held in Vienna on December In the mould week they secure a series of seminars held in [url=http://www.ddtshanghaiescort.com]shanghai escorts[/url] Graz, Vienna

    • Mhaldhitang
      March 22, 2013  

      i am Not for sure on this but i think the Reason it has trouble is the pro 9000 is an HD caemra. and in GUVC viewer you can control the resolution input size for the cam. in Kden it uses whatever is native to the caemra. which means its trying to pull in 1080p video Which i think rendering that though usb its just not fast enough to keep up. at least that is what i think happens. i think you can Change the default UVC input settings to correct that but i’m not sure how. try google.

  4. hgh reviews
    February 17, 2013  

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot! hgh reviews

  5. deca durabolin
    July 29, 2013  

    Why does my laptop make funny sounds when i play music?

  6. Phyllis
    December 7, 2013  

    Howdy! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I will send this post to him.

    Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. I appreciate you
    for sharing!

  7. repair a silva type 2 compass
    December 8, 2013  

    I go to see each day a few web pages and sites to read articles, except this website gives feature based
    content.

Leave a comment

Name *
Email Address *
Website
Message *
© 2012 - GetTechSpecs